Friday Finds: Archer Farms’ Buffalo Macaroni and Cheese

9 Jan

Even though E and I did all of our Christmas shopping online this year, it still felt like we were running around like headless chickens, tying up loose ends and getting last-minute necessities. On one particularly late evening with a hungry husband in tow, I caved, and pulled out another boxed meal I picked up from Target, Archer Farms’ Buffalo Macaroni and Cheese. E and I are both big fans of hot sauce and blue cheese, so this seemed perfect for us!

Priced under $3, this meal promised 3 servings and a one-pot mess. It’s pretty simple; bring a measured amount of water to a boil, add in both the pasta and powdered sauce mix, and cook until pasta is tender and sauce has thickened.

For me, this meal fell somewhat flat – although super-convenient and easy, the sauce never thickened fully, and was somewhat liquidy until it fully cooled. Maybe it’s personal preference, but when it comes to pasta dishes, especially a mac and cheese, I like a nice, thick sauce that coats the noodles. In terms of flavour, this was okay. I didn’t find this tasted like blue cheese or buffalo sauce at all, never mind a combination of the two. It just felt a little flat to me, and although E seemed to like it, this isn’t something I’d choose to eat again, although I did appreciate the convenience of it.

I jazzed this up with some peppered feta cheese sprinkled on top and served it with celery sticks and cucumber ranch dressing, which did improve it slightly. A great value and really convenient, taste is important, and this just didn’t do it for me.

2 Responses to “Friday Finds: Archer Farms’ Buffalo Macaroni and Cheese”

  1. E January 9, 2009 at 1:41 PM #

    I have a feeling that adding hot sauce to this may help the flavor along…but if you’re going to do that, you might as well make your own version from scratch!I do love mac’n’cheese, though.

  2. Jessica January 17, 2009 at 12:09 AM #

    Hmm…that’s interesting. I would have been thought about buying that too…

Leave a Reply

