C25K, week 1, day 2

4 Apr

C25K, week 1, day two?

Check.

We stayed at the in-laws last night, and I made sure to bring my running shoes and Polar with me. I also made sure to tell as many people as possible that I was going “running” in the morning. It’s funny that I can’t do something half-way; it’s all or nothing. There’s no way I can back out if everyone’s in on my business, so a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. The in-laws live in a town of 4,000 people, and at 7:30 am on a Sunday, no one’s out and about. Pretty safe running conditions, if you ask me, so I took it outside. Day 2 looked a lot like Day 1; 5 intervals done spot-on, 3 ending a little sooner than the 60 seconds, with cramping and soreness in my right knee and ankle. I stretched both before and after my session (which I didn’t do on Thursday), and that helped a bit. Maybe I need new shoes? It could also just be the “growing pains” of forcing my muscles to do something they’ve never been asked to do before. I’ll work it out.

I loved being outside, but man, the pavement’s rough. I definitely started to feel it as soon as the first interval, but the smell of Spring was totally worth it. I don’t think I’ll be heading outside too often, but it makes for a nice change of pace.

2 Responses to “C25K, week 1, day 2”

  1. JewliaGoulia April 4, 2010 at 5:53 PM #

    Congrats on finishing – sorry to hear about the cramping/soreness.

    Ummm… to be honest, I totally forgot about stretching. Ooops. Thank you for reminding me to do so.

    My Day 3 is tomorrow. *fingers crossed*

    🙂

    Julia
    http://jewliagoulia.blogspot.com

  2. Lyn April 8, 2010 at 12:20 PM #

    Do you stretch beforehand? That can help prevent injuries too!

    You are doing great. Keep it up and you will be so thrilled when you can do the 5k!

Leave a Reply

